Endeavor Games

Alexa Halko, age 8, trains with her coach, Brooke Hoisington on Thursday at the Endeavor Games.

Yesterday evening I had car troubles. I was driving down Boulevard and my driver’s side front wheel was making a funny noise that continued to get louder. I’m concerned. There was nowhere to stop, so I push on until I can get to a gas station to check it out. Nope.

Before I know it my car drops. I’m skidding. Cool. My driver’s side front tire makes a break for it and continues rolling at 50 mph without his three amigos. The rebellious tire hits the curb on the media and leaps about 30-40 feet into the air toward oncoming traffic. This is great.

The two trucks that the tire narrowly missed are coincidentally the only people to stop and help. Neither have a jack to help me put on my spare. Nor did the officer that arrived later. Luckily, Mrs. Griffin of the family I’m staying with this summer, passed by shortly thereafter and called her husband to lend me a hand.

This morning, Mrs. Griffin followed me to Guthrie, where I took the car into two different auto repair shops to figure out what the heck to do with the heap. I will have my car back tomorrow morning. Thankfully, Asher, who is unable to operate heavy machinery under his current condition, was nice enough to lend me his car for the day. I felt much safer in his F150. The entire Griffin family has been incredibly gracious and hospitable. Their generosity and caring attitudes continue to humble me.

When I arrived at work finally, I was hurried off to a couple of schools. One of which was holding a 1889 Summer Camp in a school house from the land run. Pretty neat.

In the afternoon, I spent some time at the UCO Endeavor Games. The people there were great to work with. They had incredible attitudes that made me feel like a jerk for not being half as joyful as they were. Truly inspiring athletes. The picture above is from the only Edmond resident in the games. Alexa had a great spirit and although she acted like she didn’t want to practice hard, it was easy to see that she loved it.

I hope I get to go back tomorrow. I’m thinking I will regardless of whether I’m on the clock or not.

One comment on “Endeavor Games”

  1. […] was happy to hear that I was being sent out to Edmond to cover the games because I actually shot the same even two years ago while I was at the Edmond […]


Leave a comment